What are types of demat account?

Zerodha (Trade with the best stock broker)

Invest brokerage-free Equity Delivery and Direct Mutual Funds (truly no brokerage). Pay flat Rs 20 per trade for Intra-day and F&O. Open Instant Account and start trading today.

Demat account have mainly 4 types; which are:

  • Regular Demat Account

    A regular demat account is for investors residing in India. The shares purchased by investors are held in digital format in the account. In a regular demat account, there are no restrictions on the maximum value of securities held.

  • Basic Services Demat Account (BSDA)

    BSDA is a demat account for small investors in the stock market. Unlike a regular demat account, the BSDA demat account has no demat account maintenance charges (AMC) for investment up to Rs 50,000. For investment between Rs 50,001 and Rs 2,00,000, the AMC is charged at Rs 100 per year. In any case, the maximum value of securities should not be greater than Rs 2 lakh to utilize the benefits of the BSDA account.

  • Repatriable Demat Account

    The Repatriable Demat Account is for Non-Resident Indians (NRIs) to hold securities in a dematerialized form. Although, NRI also requires a Non-Resident External (NRE) bank account along with Repatriable Demat Account. In a calendar year, NRI can transfer a maximum of USD 1 million of wealth abroad.

  • Non-Repatriable Demat Account

    This account is also for Non- Resident Indians (NRIs), but fund transfer to abroad is not allowed. NRI investors also require an NRO bank account linked with Non-Repatriable Demat Account to buy or sell securities.


Add a public comment...