Chittorgarh.com Logo
Loading...

Stock Broker Complaint Monitor

Stock and commodity exchanges in India i.e. BSE, NSE and MCX have established a strong mechanism to resolve investors' grievances. Dedicated departments exist in each exchange to redress investor's complaints and ensure quick and transparent resolution.

Below list shows teh total number to investor complaints received against brokers. You can further drill down to get more detail.

Complaint Against Stock Broker - NSE and BSE

FY Exchange Unique Active Clients Total Complaints Detail Report
2011-12BSE17,812,1302,918Broker wise Complaints
2011-12NSE18,068,0145,318Broker wise Complaints
2012-13BSE19,067,7821,654Broker wise Complaints
2012-13NSE19,586,0244,661Broker wise Complaints
2013-14BSE19,656,6791,339Broker wise Complaints
2013-14NSE3,955,3004,781Broker wise Complaints
2014-15BSE3,133,1601,633Broker wise Complaints
2014-15NSE4,706,5526,888Broker wise Complaints
2015-16BSE2,269,9421,131Broker wise Complaints
2015-16NSE4,759,1704,494Broker wise Complaints
2016-17BSE2,261,563635Broker wise Complaints
2016-17NSE5,447,6093,603Broker wise Complaints
2017-18BSE3,649,9481,143Broker wise Complaints
2017-18NSE7,617,0147,099Broker wise Complaints
2018-19BSE1,889,743429Broker wise Complaints
2018-19NSE8,259,1845,254Broker wise Complaints
2019-20BSE3,066,1431,628Broker wise Complaints
2019-20NSE11,547,46623,205Broker wise Complaints
2020-21BSE2,512,4031,010Broker wise Complaints
2020-21NSE18,444,38619,632Broker wise Complaints
2021-22BSE5,412,124283Broker wise Complaints
2021-22NSE24,098,8224,273Broker wise Complaints

How investor's complaints or grievances are handled at the exchange?

  1. Phase 1 - Filing the complaint
    1. Investor downloads the 'Complaint Form' from the exchange's website.
    2. Investor fills the 'Complaint Form' and send through post or submit in person to the exchange's Investor Service Centre. Addresses and phone numbers of the service centers are provided in the 'Complaint Form'. A reference number is issued to the investor once the complaint is accepted by the exchange.
    3. Following are some of the documents you will need to attach with the complaint form. The detail list of supporting documents is available in the form.
      1. Copies of contract notes and bills, showing the sale and purchase transactions.
      2. Copy of proof of delivery of shares/debentures, etc.
      3. Copy of ledger account
  2. Phase 2 - Initial Resolution through 'Investors' Grievances Redressal Committee'
    1. The complaint is sent to the broker. 3 working days are given to the broker to respond once the broker receives the complaint.
    2. If no response is received in 3 working days or exchange is not happy with the response; the complaint is given to Investors' Grievances Redressal Committee (IGRC) of the exchange.
    3. The redressal committee sends notice to both the parties to be present personally. This is to give one more opportunity to both the parties to resolve the issue by themselves.
    4. Brokers are penalized for not responding to the complaints in the given time or if they are not present for redressal committee's meeting.
  3. Phase 3 - Disciplinary Action Committee
    1. If the broker fails to implement the terms agreed before IGRC for the given complaint; the complaint is forwarded to the exchange's Disciplinary Action Committee.
    2. The disciplinary action committee levies the tough penalties to the broker including hefty fines, cancellation of membership etc.

How to file a complaint against a broker?

  1. Download 'Investors complaint form against trading member' from exchange's website i.e. bseindia.com, nseindia.com. Some exchange also allows online application through their website.
  2. Fill the form; attach the required documents and submit it to exchange's investor service center. You can send it by post or in person.
  3. Once accepted; you will receive a reference number; which can be used for any future communications with the exchange.

What types of complaint against broker are resolved by exchanges?

Investor <> Broker <> Exchange

Each broker is a member of an exchange. As per the SEBI guidelines; the exchange provides a comprehensive mechanism to resolve verity of issues investors face with a broker.

If an investor doesn't get an appropriate response from the broker; he can file a complaint about the broker with the exchange. Following are some of the common problem where exchanges provide:

  • Non-Issuance of the Documents by the Trading Member
  • Non-receipt of funds / securities
  • Non-receipt of margin/security deposit given to the Trading Member (TM)
  • Non-Receipt of Corporate Benefit (dividend / interest / bonus etc.)
  • Auction value / closeout value received or paid
  • Execution of Trades without Consent
  • Excess Brokerage charged by Trading Member / Sub-broker
  • Non-receipt of credit balance as per the statement of account
  • Non-Receipt of Funds / Securities kept as margin
  • Excess Brokerage Charged (other than on Option Premium)

26 Comments

26. Naidu  Sep 18, 2021 10:47 I Like It. | Report Abuse Reply
I am with Angel. Not experienced in Option trading. No asker No teller. Unwanted calls comes and lured with profits and took away 40 profit. Created loss in 2 lakhs. Later entire portfolio was sold. Without OTP how these shares were sold. It became Nil. For this there is no reply from Angel. Request small investors not to trade in options
25. sachin  Jul 29, 2021 12:39 I Like It. | Report Abuse Reply
Hi Guys,

This is in regards to Acumen Capital Kerala. Please do not trade with these guys. I have filled an complaint with NSE and BSE about them for excessive brokerage. My account was handled by an advisor who did 191 trades in my account without my knowledge. The trading amount was Rs. 90000/- and these guys are charing me Rs. 84000 as brokerage. When i spoke to RM he said the brokerage is Rs. 40 per lot which was not mentioned in anywhere. They had provided me login credentials for touch broking which is discount broking app. When i have checked with thr call centre they said It's Rs. 19 per order which comes Rs. 3629/- I had tried speaking to higher management but couldnt do so. The RM said your account is with Acumen capital which is a full time service broker where the brokerage is Rs.40 per lot then why i have given the touch broking credentials. I have lost almost 84k in brokerage and no one is ready to give me the email or any form of communication where i had agreed to it. If anyone knows higher management please help.

Please stop using Acumen capital.
24. Sheeba Deshmukh  Jun 22, 2021 15:38 I Like It. | Report Abuse Reply
upstox has no discipline in working place. no response to calls , no solution to the problem but blame the customer back they just know to squeeze the money from the investors.
on the whole uptox is a thug and fraud company with falls promises.
i regret as a customer with upstox
·
24.1. Mahesh K Shah  Jul 1, 2021 08:23 I Like It. | Report Abuse
I have similar experience. I do not get contract notes for 2 years and all complaints have fallen to deaf years. I have checked technical issues at my end, No problems at my end. @ years back FNO buy sell orders did not generate notification of successful order execution and led to huge losses on Algo trading. My complaints were stone walled. When i see any chart of the stock, it shows wrong huge price few years back which were never there anytime in the past: wrong charts. In holdings screen it does not show todays gain ( amount and %) for many stocks. They do not have any mechanism to update buy price and date for stocks which came by gift or transfer from another broker account. I would nay day prefer SAMCO or zerodha
23. L.c.jain  Jun 11, 2021 23:02 I Like It. | Report Abuse Reply
Hi I have account with motilal oswal since 3-4 month and complicated worse app . Some time show value double and some time. So e time can't login even connected to internet . Some time glitch and can't operate
And today extreem . Since 9 am to now 11 pm not work . Can't see real value portfolio and all day can't use app.. tired from it . Will move other app . I have zerodha . No much issues . But to divert risk I prefer more then one app so . After open account will share my reviews
22. Eohit sharma  Jun 11, 2021 15:29 I Like It. | Report Abuse Reply
Hi, I have an account with Motilal oswal, today their server is not responding resulting not able to sell or purchase my holdings and insured loss, can anybody let me know how can we register a complaint against broker
21. Sushil garg  Jun 9, 2021 03:32 I Like It. | Report Abuse Reply
Why choice broker charge on our deposit to broker ie.Rs..9/- everytime. Our deposit money how can they Charge
20. Parag Kenkare  Dec 12, 2020 19:51 I Like It. | Report Abuse Reply
Myself Parag Kenkare. My complaint and grievance is against MOTILAL OSWAL. I woruld caution any trader or investor who trades actively in stock market to not open demat account with this broker. First of all their brokerage charges are very high, different for different customers and there are hidden charges. On top of that their so-called advisors are only interested in giving Motilal more brokerage at the cost of traders losses in the segments that they are inexperienced in. I mainly trade in delivery swing and intraday. I don't have experience of trading in derivatives futures and options but wanted to learn trading in it. I told my advisor, Mr. Divyesh Bhesania about my inexperience in trading F&O segment and just wanted to trade in option to learn how to trade in options. I have been a victim of this unethical malpractice by my advisor who instead of placing order in 1 lot in options showed me the greed of profits and placed trades in 10 lots that too on the expiry day on Thursday when the market is most volatile. He put trade on my behalf in call option that too when the market was going down and when I told him to trade in put option when the market is bearish he told me to put trust in him and bought a call option giving stop loss at almost 40 Rs gap. Because of his blunder which was actually cheating I suffered a loss of more than Rs 9500.

After this episode another advisor named Shreyas told me to trade in currency to cover my losses of Rs 9.5k and placed a sell put trade in currency options purchasing 200 lots. When again the MTM was showing about 5k loss he told me to average it out by 300 lots more, so the total lots sold was 500 lots in put option and he told me to hold it for next day Friday which was the currency options expiry day. Because the rupee went down further against dollar I suffered another huge loss of 20000. In all I suffered loss of more than 45000 due to 30000 loss plus more than 15000 brokerage charged by Motilal Oswal. I never trust any outside fake advisor who calls me from Indore, Bhopal, Rajkot and other places but I actually put blind trust on advisor of Motilal Oswal thinking that they are advisors of reputed broker but it was my big mistake. On one hand Motilal Oswal brokerage is highest in broking industry and on other hand they will do anything, even give wrong calls to make losses for customers and to gain more brokerage. So guys be careful before opening account with this most unethical broker MOTILAL OSWAL. All your hard earned money can get wiped out in no time by wrong advisory with wrong calls to give Motilal more business at the cost of customer losses.
20.1. Sunil Bhosale  Mar 5, 2021 10:26 I Like It. | Report Abuse
Hello Mr Parag
I have also faced the same issue . Can you tell me how did you resolve it ? Please reply to my email ID
19. Chetan chature  Nov 29, 2020 22:05 I Like It. | Report Abuse Reply
my self chetan from pune. i open my icici traditing acc for yes bank share purpose, due to lockdown market crash ,so I thought i am loosing work Buissness & having Home emi N other ,electricity bills, shop rent and daily essentials need ,y not earn from share market , that time I started to trade with giving call but during lockdown days Many of the time no one answers it .some of icici Officer suggest me to trade With application of Icici , and some how i managed to trade With it ,but few days befor wanted to buy 1000 shares of IndusInd bank That to with stop loss , I dnt no how to put stop loss , so I call my Icici broker consultant, they told me to go through mtf 365 option From app As they also dose not aware about this option properly ,and as per there command Of instructions I have taken 1000 share they told put stop loss on it ,So I did like that ,after 2-3 days I got a msg for pledg from stock market, I dnt no what is pledge n all ,so I called them what is this ,that time they told me to confirm the pladg, they send me Link , I tried to confirm It and told them that it's not happening, but no response , and my share got sold , i put my sweat Blood n tear To earn this money, and I lost my 250000 rs money , what should i do . I dnt no
18. Pramila kanwar  Oct 13, 2020 09:24 I Like It. | Report Abuse Reply
I have IIFL LTD broker demat account without permission or any message the broker sell my holding share on dated 12/10/2020 for annually charges of swing trading but i am not interested in as above . Last 2 days call me by broker service for swing trading charges but i don't agree for as above .but company sell holding share in my without agree .please register my complaint.
17. Lata modi  Oct 11, 2020 23:21 I Like It. | Report Abuse Reply
Alankit link share issue cheated
The Indian public.they have not alloted of
Shares of maggav doc and take all the retail
Allotment in their own account
Sebi should take action against Alankit registry
I am hundred percent right
Lata
16. Prabhat Chopra  Sep 29, 2020 13:24 I Like It. | Report Abuse Reply
My broker Shriram Insight Share broker ltd not giving me the details of my holding.I close my account in 2011, My holding details is not giving me inspire of my respected requests as I required to calculate the long term capital gain/loss.He is giving me the BSE/NSE trade list from 2004 to 2011.I need the Date of accusations Rate of purchase .Invoice no..My D.P.I.D.12038400 Client.I.D.00178908 Trading Code P201P1. As I am not traded from 2011 . Please ask the broker to give me the detail so that I calculate the loss/Gain.and pay to Govt. Iam a female senior citizen of 63 years old.I request you to please help me. As you are the only safe guard if investor.
15. Seema Pant  Jun 10, 2020 21:15 I Like It. | Report Abuse Reply
I had bought 1000 shares of Ruchi Soya Industries at 12.70 but after some months i surprised to see that only 10 shares are there and 990 disaapeared .I cotacted to my broker Religare but they say that Ruchi Soya have done this with all its stock holders. Is is true ? Where should it be complained
15.1. MR Kadam  Jun 12, 2020 15:15 I Like It. | Report Abuse
Same with me. I dont even see it in my portfolio..
14. uma sankara mahanty  Sep 1, 2020 08:16 I Like It. | Report Abuse Reply
I buy some shares for delivery basis last weak but still the stocks were not delivered in m demate account till today . I called several times but they mislead me. if my issue was not solved today further i will lodge a complaint in SEBI and i take legal action also.
13. Kamaldeep Singh  Jun 15, 2020 22:27 I Like It. | Report Abuse Reply
Report Abuse
I have invested a sum of Rs 400000 with "my capital grow" account which was being operated in the pool account with BMA without my knowledge and on asking the Representatives of MY CAPITAL GROW they said BMA is defaulted by SEBI and now not taking any responsibility for refund of my money can anyone suggest please refund my amount
13.1. Umeshkarthik  Aug 24, 2020 17:57 I Like It. | Report Abuse
I am also facing the same problem sir
12. Ravi  Aug 10, 2020 19:15 I Like It. | Report Abuse Reply
I am registered with Standard Chartered Securities Chennai Branch and of late have been experiencing frequent outages/disruptions confined to this Chennai Branch.
Last Monday 3 Aug the lines were down from 830 am till 1020 am due to lack of battery back up. This means that I couldn't call the agent to place order.
Same thing happened this morning for 25 minutes from 9 AM till 0925 hrs. As a result I incurred loss as I couldn't sell the shares.
Is the brokerage not responsible to compensate for the loss. What are the obligations of the broker to give uninterrupted service to clients
11. Kamal sinha  Jun 28, 2020 23:07 I Like It. | Report Abuse Reply
My mother had stocks worth more than a few crores. A family member was a stockbroker and handled her stocks. I was in America. After mother passed away and I came back to India. The stockbroker talks only to my younger brother and in last ten years he has been collecting dividends amd info about the stocks is kept secret from me. Do I have any recourse as I should get half of her property?
10. Piyush  Jul 17, 2020 17:36 I Like It. | Report Abuse Reply
Yes securities was after me to open an account now they dont seem to have time.
Their dealer at the desk complaints about all FPO's being due today. I wanted to apply for Bharat Bond ETF but it was neither available on their website. They took it off today to promote their own FPO. Dealer hung up
9. Gaurav  Jun 29, 2020 23:37 I Like It. | Report Abuse Reply
PRABHUDAS LILADHAR STOCK BROKER , mentioned stock broker agent cheated me by given false information about trading in currency and Nifty put option calls and made me lost ₹50000 in one day by false guide.
8. Archana Chauhan  Jun 24, 2020 11:14 I Like It. | Report Abuse Reply
As per your offer the plan period can be extended further. You would have observed that due to limited funds I am not able to trade much thus the balance brokerage utilisation can not happen . Also due to outbreak of COVID-19 pandemic it has reduced further considerably. I understand your concern and looking for the refund of the balance fund into my account to utilise it for further purchase at your normal brokerage. Also my queries below has remained unattended.

1- RMAX plan document as agreed by me.

2- SEBI approval of the RMAX 25000 Plan .

Reliance Money is not paying heed to reply point wise rather emphasizing their plan on one or other pretext.
7. prakash bista chhetri  Jun 20, 2020 12:28 I Like It. | Report Abuse Reply
I Have submitted account closure cum transfer form along with new CMR to karvy stock brocking limited. they are not closing the DP account nor they are transferring the DP shares to new OWN DP account. Also they are not paying me the amount lying idle in the karvy account. Several times i have complaint the same and every time they give excuse that they are passing through rough time. how is that related to me. WHAT TO DO?
6. Golmei Kumar Rongmei  Mar 7, 2020 14:42 I Like It. | Report Abuse Reply
Sir/madam
I requested to you that if I open a demat account of Angel broking. How to get benefits, facilities, and profit or loss from Angel broking?
6.1. Aurobinda  May 2, 2020 15:04 I Like It. | Report Abuse
My suggestion is go with any other brokers. Angels service is very poor, they always cheating clients. I am also a user of angel broking, I have a issue so I sent aail.but no one is responding to my mail.
5. Rehan Naqvi  Apr 10, 2020 14:41 I Like It. | Report Abuse Reply
Zerodha is block my account without any reason.
and i am calling so they don,t know why are block what is the problem...

please active my account then i will trade
4. Dhan Singh Rawat  Apr 8, 2020 08:01 I Like It. | Report Abuse Reply
Samco is give a very bad service. And customer service provider have not good knowledge. And portfolio is showing very wrong data so i got very much losses my clients ID- DD30961
3. RAJESH KUMAR JALAN  Apr 7, 2020 17:56 I Like It. | Report Abuse Reply
In the event of failure of our security and investment firm " India nivesh securities" our total security and fund blocked how we can get these back.
2. U.Priya  Apr 1, 2020 22:17 I Like It. | Report Abuse Reply
My account has blocked and the amount is due for till date.Already sent four reminders. Today also CDSL reported amount as Rs. 49,890/. is differs from the last month balance. Why the difference occurs. Inform the details immediately.

U.Priya.
Belongs to Annamalai securities,
Coimbatore. Code P032.
1. Prashant  Feb 27, 2020 06:26 I Like It. | Report Abuse Reply
Dear Sir,

There was a 'Execution of Trades without Consent' on my account at ICICI Direct. Can i lodge a complain online?
I bought a PUT using cash and they closed it saying insufficient margin. I am following up with them but they are not responding.